吉隆坡:2017年3月23日:站在一个超过6英尺的气势, 穿着时髦西装, 美国企业家克里斯.加德纳不是你想象的一个曾经无家可归的推销员与他的蹒跚学步的儿子住在旧金山的街道上。

在我们所知道的许多贫穷到富贵的故事中,克里斯.加德纳的生平故事被认为是其中最有名的。

对于那些对他的故事不熟悉的人, 身为一位单亲家长,他曾经睡在火车站的厕所里、公共公园而当他的同事们都离开时,他便睡在办公桌下-同时照顾着他的14月大儿子。

你想看的电影 “追求幸福”, 灵感来自与克里斯.加德纳, 其回忆录, 在2006年被制作成电影主演威尔.史密斯。这部电影在票房上赢得了307.1万美元, 突显了加德纳在二十世纪八十年代的早年生活, 把他的儿子描绘成一个五岁的孩子 (由史密斯自己的儿子贾德.史密斯饰演) 进行对话。他说: “事实是, 在我们生命的那个时候, 他仍然穿着尿布, 仅有14月大。


2013年,Summit CEO, 姚俊杰与克里斯.加德纳在他的芝加哥, 伊利诺伊办公室

尽管这一切, 克里斯成功地在华尔街成为了一名股票经纪人, 然后在芝加哥成立了自己的股票经纪公司, “加德纳富公司”总部。今天, 这位企业家转向动机的演讲者周游世界, 进行不同的使命。

就在几天前, 克里斯.加德纳到访大家, 在全球转型论坛 (GFT) 2017分享他的哲学和方法, 以创造一个圆满, 成功的生活基于积极, 租赁和纪律-一个完全适合有斗争和声誉的主题。


Summit与克里斯.加德纳在GTF 2017

不用说, 我们和克里斯通电话, 并在2017全球转型论坛上坐了下来, 其中熟悉脸孔包括处女集团创始人理查德. 布兰森, 阿里巴巴集团执行主席马云和奥林匹克短跑冠军博尔特。

相关文章: 理查德. 布兰森在47年后到访越南

Summit与克里斯讨论了从最近的美国总统选举、家庭、父母、社会责任和职业道德到未来计划的一切。克里斯还强调了一个事实, 即我们都是自己命运的主宰。他引述:

“我们都理解遗传学, 你会得到你母亲的眼睛, 你父亲的鼻子, 你什么也控制不了。但你自己的精神, 我相信是可以选择。你可以选择, 或者做任何你想做或做的事。”

显然, 对这位骄傲的祖父来说, 年龄只是个数字。在 63岁, 克里斯. 加德纳并没有表现出减速的迹象。”事实上, 我们才刚刚起步”, 他说。

Kuala Lumpur, March 23rd 2017: Standing with an imposing presence of over 6 feet, dressed in a stylish suit, American entrepreneur Chris Gardner is not a homeless salesman you imagine living on the streets of San Francisco with his toddler son.

Amongst the many rags-to-riches stories we know, the life-story of Chris Gardner is considered one of the most famous of all.

To those who are unfamiliar with his story, he slept in the toilets of railway stations, in public parks and under his desk at work when his colleagues had left – all these, while caring for his 14-month old son as a single father with nothing to his name.

You want to watch the movie ‘Pursuit of Happyness’, inspired by Chris Gardner, whose memoir, was made into a film starring Will Smith in 2006. The film, which went on to earn some US$307.1mil at the box-office, highlighted Gardner’s early life in the 1980s, portraying his son as a five-year-old (played by Smith’s own son, Jaden Smith) for dialog sake. “The truth is at that time of our lives, he was still in diapers, and barely 14 months old”, he said.


CEO Summit, Terence Yao with Chris Gardner in his Chicago, Illinois office in 2013

Despite all of this, Chris succeeded as a stockbroker on Wall Street, and then founded his own stock brokerage firm, ‘Gardner Rich & Co.’ based in Chicago. Today, the entrepreneur-turned-motivational speaker travels around the world on a different mission.

Just days ago, Chris Gardner flew into town to share his philosophies and methods to creating a fulfilling, successful life based on positivity, tenancy and discipline at the Global Transformation Forum (GFT) 2017 – a theme that fits perfectly for the man of struggle and reputation.


The team at Summit gets up close and personal with Chris Gardner at GTF 2017

And it goes without saying, we got on the phone with Chris and sat down for a long-overdue catch up at the Global Transformation Forum 2017, where familiar icons include Founder of Virgin Group Sir Richard Branson, Executive Chairman of Alibaba Group Jack Ma and Olympic sprinting champion Usain Bolt, just to name a few.

Related: Richard Branson Arrives In Vietnam After 47 Years

The team discussed on everything from the recent US presidential election, family, parenthood, social responsibility, and work ethics to future plans. Chris also stressed on the fact that we are all masters of our own destiny. He quoted:

“We all understand genetics, you’re going to get your Mother’s eyes, your Father’s nose, and there is nothing you can do about it. But the spirit of whom you are going to become as a man or woman, I believe that you can choose. You can do, or be anything that you want to do or be.”

Clearly, to the proud Grandfather, age is just a number. At 63, Chris Gardner is showing no signs of slowing down. “In fact, we’re just getting started”, he says.