在新闻发布会上宣布Nokia被微软收购, 其首席执行官, 包括他的管理团队, 在泪水中崩溃了。

科技世界总是在不断变化。今天流行的东西明天可能会过时。

由于破坏商业世界的创新似乎无处不在, 几乎任何时候都可以这样做, 许多无法适应的公司最终会失去优势然后失败。以微软为例。虽然它仍然是目前的软件行业巨头之一, 但他们在最近几年一直在追赶苹果和谷歌的竞争对手。

也许最戏剧性的损失, 教了许多昂贵和艰苦的教训是没有适应和移动的时代失败的前电信巨头Nokia。

在Nokia鼎盛时期的80年代和早期的90年代之间, Nokia对手机就像是苹果对iPhone似的。

在智能手机时代之前, 几乎每个人都拥有一款Nokia手机。但不可思议的事情发生了, Nokia被竞争对手超越而消失了。

这里有5个教诲, 所有的创业者都应该从Nokia的失败中吸取教训, 以避免错误的损失。

1. 随时了解客户的需求

永远不要爱上你的品牌, 这一点, 如果需要的话,你会不愿意改善。随着社交媒体网站和应用程序开始充斥智能手机市场, Nokia依然坚持其旧模式。很快, 它发现自己失去了曾经忠诚的客户群。在商业中持续成功的重要一点是: 你的客户想要什么, 而不是你认为对他们有好处的。

2. 开放于实验, 创新和改变

一旦你知道市场想要什么, 什么是趋势, 通过创新来领先于竞争对手。了解如何, 定期评估你的产品, 找出需要改进的领域。走出你的舒适区, 尝试新的东西。这是一种驱动, 不断给客户最好的, 使苹果和谷歌超越他们的竞争对手。

3. 你的商业模式必须是可持续的

随着你对产品的改进和在市场上的领先, 你的商业模式必须效仿。永远不要让它停留, 即使他们是成功的。最终, 你将无法利用可能增加收入的新兴销售渠道。相反, 你可以了解有关新的工作业务模型的内容, 并据此更新你的业务模型。

4. 跟随金钱;不要停留在你现在的原点

首先, 你需要知道机会在哪里开放。一个例子就是小米如何在智能手机市场上获得更大的份额。

三星和其他电信巨头一直在向个别客户销售单位, 这是没有错的, 但小米已经预计, 今天的智能手机用户将很快进入互联网的东西 (IoT), 转移他们的销售方式, 以配合一种能够穿透大量的电子商务, 在不远的将来提前定位自己以超越竞争对手。

5. 创建一个渠道, 使你能发掘出最好的人才

人才在科技业务中是至关重要的, 或者是任何业务的关键。拥有最好的, 最聪明的, 最勤奋的人, 将会使任何业务的下一个水平。Nokia一直遵循传统的招聘模式, 只是聘请人才, 因为他们需要它。这种做法可能对任何其他公司都有作用, 但Nokia的竞争对手已经超越了它, 它创造了一个渠道, 在技术开发人员中, 最受追捧的劳动力能够与他们达成关系并形成联系。

与开发商来想法和以想法来技术。能够始终如一地创造能满足各自市场需求的创新技术的公司, 从长远来看, 取得成功的机会要高得多。

During the press conference to announce Nokia being acquired by Microsoft, its CEO, including his management team, broke down in tears.

The tech world is always in flux. What is popular today can be obsolete tomorrow.

As innovations that disrupt the business world seem to come out of nowhere and could do so virtually any time, many companies who cannot adapt, eventually lose their edge and fizzle out.
Take for example Microsoft. While it is still one of the current software industry giants, they have been playing catch-up to its rivals Apple and Google in recent years.

Probably the most dramatic loss that taught many expensive and hard lessons was the failure of former telecom titan Nokia who failed to adapt and move with the times.

In between the late ‘80s and early ‘90s, which was Nokia’s heyday, Nokia is to the cellphone what Apple is to the smartphone.

Prior to the days of the smartphone, virtually everybody owned a Nokia cellphone. But the unthinkable happened—Nokia faded away and was overtaken by its competitors.

Here are 5 lessons all entrepreneurs ought to learn from Nokia’s debacle to avoid the mistakes that cost it’s demise.

1. Always stay informed of what your customer wants

Never fall in love with your brand to the point that you will be unwilling to improve on it if need be. As social media sites and apps start flooding the smartphone market, Nokia stuck to its old model. Soon it found itself losing its once loyal customer base. What is important to continually succeed in business is: What your customers want, not what you think is good for them.

2. Be open to experiment, innovate, and change

Once you know what the market wants and what is trending, get ahead of your competitors by innovating. To find out how, regularly evaluate your products to find out the areas that need improvement. Get out of your comfort zone and try new things as well. It’s that kind of drive to keep giving customers the best that enabled Apple and Google to outdo their competition.

3. Your business model must be sustainable

As you improve on your products and get ahead in the market, your business model must follow suit. Never let it stay put, even if they were successful. You will end up being unable to tap into emerging sales channels that can potentially increase your revenues. Instead, learn what you can about the new working business model and update your business model accordingly.

4. Follow the money; do not stay focused on where you are currently getting yours

For a start, you need to know where the opportunities are opening up. One example is how Xiaomi has been gearing itself to get an even bigger portion of the smartphone market.
Samsung and other telecom giants has been selling units to individual customers which is nothing wrong, but Xiaomi has already anticipated that today’s smartphone user will soon tap into the Internet of Things (IoT), shifting their sales approach to align with the kind of e-commerce that can penetrate the IoT, and positioning itself early to overtake its competitors in the near future.

5. Create a channel that will enable you to tap the best possible talents

Talent is crucial in the tech business, or any business for that matter. Having the best, the brightest, and the most hardworking will bring any business to the next level. Nokia kept following the traditional recruitment mode and just hired talent, as they needed it. That approach may have worked for any other company, but Nokia’s competitors were outstripping it by creating a channel where the most sought-after workforce in tech—developers—were able to reach out to and form relationships with them.

With developers come ideas and with ideas come technology. Companies who can consistently create innovative technology that meets their respective markets’ needs stand a much higher chance of success in the long run.