工作的着装不完全是火箭科学, 但有些人每天与他们的时尚选择抗争, 而另一些则声称穿同样的风格有它自己的一套优势-一个远离主流的习惯

以马克. 扎克伯格为例, 如果世界上最年轻的亿万富翁从他推出 Facebook 至今从未改变过一件事, 那就是他每天穿的灰色 t恤衫 —  而且这带着一个很好的理由。


世界上最年轻的亿万富翁每天通常穿着同样的 t恤衫或帽衫运动衫

在2014年的首次公开采访中, 这位亿万富翁解释了为什么他的服装从来没有改变过。扎克伯格说: “我真的想从新整理我生活, 使我不得不做出尽可能少的决定, 而专注与如何最好地服务于这个社区。

更不用说史蒂夫.乔布斯了-已故的苹果公司创始人以他的招牌风格,黑色高领毛衣、蓝色牛仔裤和New Balance运动鞋著称。甚至有人说, 乔布斯试图让他的整个公司在同一时刻穿上同样的服装。

尽管时尚评论家怎么说, 这种非传统习惯的目的其实很简单。

在琐碎事情上做出的决定越少意味着更多的精力能够集中在工作场所更重要的事情。

在一个充满选择的社会里, 我们时常不知不觉地作出更多的决定。这导致在我们在一段时间内作出的决定的质量偏低。简单地说, 你做出的每一个决定都会消耗你大量的精力和时间。

对于那些天天都做出重大决定的人来说, 就算是删除一个简单的动作比如说-选择今天要穿的衣服的决定就可以让他们抽出更多的精神空间和更好的生产率。

这形成了前任美国总统奥巴马有限的时尚选择的基础, “你会看到我只穿灰色或蓝色的西装。我尽量减少做出决定。我不想对我吃或穿的东西做出决定因为我还有太多其他的决定要做。马克·扎克伯格援引了类似的理由。”减少了这些早晨的轻率决定可以导致产量为更好的决定在真正重要的事”。

重点是,没有人要你每天都穿相同的衣件 -那就不好了。但是, 只是简单的精简你的衣柜到简单的衣件, 以适应你的生活方式, 肯定会使你甜甜的早晨更加容易。

减少人工追逐费用节省时间和金钱

广告商每年花上数以百万计在时装和美容, 这一点也不奇怪为什么我们的文化会沉迷于我们的外表, 以及我们如何向公众展现自己。

但回想起来, 关键是要富有, 而不是仅仅看起来富有。

然而, 在消费信贷世界中, 有些人犯了过度的支出, 这直接是因为资金管理习惯不佳和明确的优先次序造成的。

选择更简单的衣件或采用一个可预测的风格有助于减少不必要的购物-更不用说那些花在购物的多余时间。


相关文章:
白手起家百万富翁的10大习惯

Dressing for work is not exactly rocket science but some people battle with their fashion choices everyday while others claimed that donning the same style has its own set of advantages – a habit far from the mainstream.

Take Mark Zuckerberg for instance, if there is one thing about the world’s youngest billionaire that has never changed from the time he launched Facebook till now, is the same grey T-shirt he wears everyday – and with good reasons.


The world’s youngest billionaire typically wears the same T-shirt or hoodie sweatshirt everyday

During his first public interview in 2014, the billionaire explained why his outfits never changed. “I really want to clear my life to make it so that I have to make as few decisions as possible about anything except how to best serve this community,” said Zuckerberg.

Not to mention Steve Jobs, the late Apple co-founder known for his signature black turtleneck, blue jeans and New Balance sneakers. It was even said that Jobs tried to go as far as having his whole company wear the same outfit at one point.

Despite fashion critics, the purpose behind this unconventional habit is simple.

Fewer decisions made on trivial matters mean more energy to focus on those that really matter at the workplace

Where consumers are spoilt for choices, we unknowingly make more decisions on a daily basis than before. This results in the deteriorating quality of decisions made over a period of time. Simply put, every decision you make uses up your mental energy and time.

For people who make significant decisions еvеrуdау, thе removal of even one—choosing clothes in the mоrnіng—lеаvеѕ thеm with more mental space and better productivity.

This form the basis fоr Prеѕіdеnt Bаrасk Obama’s limited fashion options, “You’ll see I wear only gray or blue ѕuіtѕ. I’m trуіng to pare down decisions. I don’t want to make decisions about what I’m еаtіng оr wearing. Bесаuѕе I have too many other dесіѕіоnѕ to make.” Mark Zuckerberg cites similar rationale. “Onе lеѕѕ frivolous decision in the morning leads tо better decisions on things that really matter”.

To be clear, no one is saying wearing the same exact item for days—that would be unpleasant. But just streamlining your wardrobe down to a ready-flow of clothes to fit your lifestyle will certainly make those mornings easier.

Reduced expense on artificial pursuits saves time and money

Advertisers spend millions on fashion and beauty every year, which comes to no surprise why our culture has become obsessed with how we appear, and how we present ourselves to the public.

But in retrospect, the point is to be rich, instead of just looking rich.

However, in a consumer credit world, even some are guilty of excessive spending—which is a direct result of poor money management habits and clear set of priorities.

Choosing to go with a much simpler wardrobe оr аdорtіng а predictable style helps to cut out unnecessary purchases—not to mention the amount of time wаѕtеd ѕhорріng for items.

Related: 10 Habits of Self-Made Millionaires